Board Information


Board Zones

The Authority covers approximately 22 square miles and continues to grow. Several distinct communities that receive service from Sunrise lie within that area. To assure that customers receive equitable representation, the Board of commissioners are elected from seven zones defined by population. The zone boundaries are updated every ten years after the decennial census in order to remain as equal in population as possible.

View Interactive Board Zone Map »
After clicking the link above, enter your address in the upper left corner of the map.


Board Members

TBD board member photo

Zone 1

Kevin Bailey, Commissioner

Term: July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2023
Kevin has been active in volunteering with local government in several areas. In addition to his work with Sunrise Water Authority, Kevin has also served on the Happy Valley Traffic and Public Safety Board and the Clackamas County Sewer District #1 Advisory Board.

Gary Barth

Zone 2

Gary Barth, Commissioner

Term: July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2023
Gary joins our board after retiring from Clackamas County where he served as the Director of Business and Community Services for 11 years.  Previous to joining the county his professional career was in the financial services industry where he led several organizations specializing in financial analysis, product development, and product and portfolio management.

Tim Chairet

Zone 3

Tim Chairet, Commissioner

Term: July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2023


Zone 4

Andy Coate,
Vice Chair

Term:  July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2025
As a project manager for a major construction company, Andy brings a strong background in infrastructure construction to the Board. He has managed large reservoir and pipeline construction contracted by entities such as the Cities of Portland and Salem. 

Kevin O'Meara Board

Zone 5

Kevin O'Meara, Commissioner

Term: July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2025
Kevin is an experienced professional economist who spent the balance of his career managing and consulting within the electrical utility field.  His primary responsibility during the last few years prior to retirement was analyzing the costs of the Federal hydroelectric system and nuclear plant that the Bonneville Power Administration markets to wholesale customers in order to assure consumers receive the best value.

Term: July 1, 2023 - June 30, 2027


Zone 7

Chris Hawes, Chair

Term: July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2025
Chris has taken an active role in local government for a number of years.  He has served on a number of advisory committees at the local and county level over the years, including the C800 Emergency Communications System Upgrade, City of Damascus Budget and Finance and Citizen Involvement Committees and on the Sunrise Water Authority Budget Committee prior to his election to the Board of Commissioners.

Agenda Packets & Minutes


Public Information & Transparency

We are committed to maintaining an open and honest dialogue with customers about our operations and finances. The trust given to us by our customers must be earned by our actions, and we pledge to provide safe, reliable water service in an open and transparent manner.

We want to make sure that our information is easy to find and that our customers understand the value of the services we provide, so we invite you to explore our website and the content below, and contact us at 503-761-0220 or if you would like to learn more.


The Board of Commissioners meets on the fourth Wednesday of every month at 6:00 PM at the Sunrise Water Authority offices located at 10602 SE 129th Avenue in Happy Valley. Meetings are held in a hybrid format with remote access available. All meetings of the Board of Commissioners are open to the public.